PowerPoint training courses London
Previews of PowerPoint2013 show that it will be easier to create and share professional presentations with a range of new and improved features.
2010's improvements and streamlined processes mean that your presentations are easier to create, edit and view. They also look better and are more accessible to your audience -whether the presentation is given in person or online.
Differences From 2007 to 2010
If you are currently using 2007, the 2010 differences include improved functionality and more design options
with the enhanced Ribbon and Backstage view. There are new tools so you can easily include videos, music and
screenshots in your presentation - and record your presentation to put it online or record it onto a DVD. There is
easier access to collaborative working,
allowing you to work with colleagues on presentations, whether you are in the office or out and about.
Differences From 2003 or earlier to 2010
If you are using an earlier versions of MS Office (2003 or earlier), the most significant visual change is the Ribbon
and Backstage View. This replaces 2003's file menu to manage files, create presentations, edit, print and send them.
The new tools in 2010 give you greater options with improved graphics and designs. A dramatic difference is the
ability to collaborate on presentations - working with your colleagues on a presentation at the same time, and even
uploading the final result for online presentations.
The Ribbon replaces the file menus and toolbars with a visual layout of commands. These commands are organised into 8
tabs, making it easier for you to find the features you need. The most requently used commands are now larger buttons
making it easier to find them.
The 8 tabs in the 2010 PowerPoint Ribbon are: Home, Insert, Design, Transitions, Slide Show, Review and View.
Within each of these 8 tabs there are Contextual tabs which will display the relevant commands for
that main tab. This gives you a tidier workspace showing you the commands you need, and "hiding" the ones
you don't need right now.
Fully Customisable Ribbon
You can customise your Ribbon fully in 2010 (this was not the case in 2007). So you can make your most frequently used
commands more accessible on the Ribbon's tabs or even add new tabs. You can do this via Options in
the Backstage View.
KeyTips Improved Access Keys (Shortcut keys)
These shortcuts open tabs in the Ribbon to access the commands you need (without using the mouse). You use Alt plus
another key (or sequence of keys) to access the commands. The shortcut keys are shown on the screen (when you press
Alt), so for example, you don't have to try and remember each shortcut key combination as you would, for example, in
Office 2003.
Live Preview
This is a new tool that saves you time by allowing you to see the impact of applying an editing or formatting change
to your selection. Then can chose the most suitable version for your presentation in one click.
You can manage your PowerPoint files using the Backstage View, which you access via the File tab. This is where you to manage files, create presentations etc. It includes the most common commands and file information, media compatibility, performance, permission and version control.
The File tab replaces the Office button used in Office 2007, and the File menu in Office 2003.
When you are starting a new presentation, the Backstage View gives you built in templates and online templates from Office.com. This speeds up creating your new presentation by selecting a ready-made template, which you can customise to your needs (and you don't have to create them all from scratch).
Quick Access Toolbar
This gives you the commands you use on a regular basis - for example when your cursor is on some text in a
presentation, it will show you the most relevant commands to work on it. You can to your quick access toolbar by
clicking the drop down list to add additional commands.
Compatability Checker - Compatability with other Office Versions
This tool lets you save, open or edit a powerpoint presentation in 2003 or earlier versions of MS Office. You
can also open a PowerPoint presentation from an earlier version of Office, and edit them within 2010. You can create,
work on and save a 2010 presentation as a 2003 version, and the compatability checker will notify you (when you save
it as a 2003 file) of any items that will not be compatible. For example, you lose some editing capability with
shapes and SmartArt when you edit a 2010 PowerPoint presentation in Office 2003.
Accessibility Checker 2010
This tool makes it easier for you to check your presentation to identify and rectify any issues to ensure that your
presentation is accessible to people with disabilities. The tool is located under File, then Info, then Check for
Issues.
PowerPoint 2003 commands in PowerPoint 2010
Most of the 2003 shortcuts still work in 2010, but you will need to know the shortcut keys from memory (or a quick
reference sheet). In 2003, Alt +E opened the edit menu and you could press the underlined letter to complete the
action.
2010 has improved the inclusion and editing functions in PowerPoint for images, audio, animation and video.
Embed and edit Audio clips
This function has been improved from 2007. You can now embed audio clips from a range of sound files (and not just
.wav as in PowerPoint 2007). You can also edit the audio clip using in-place editing.
Add, Edit and Embed videos to play them within your presentation
This is a great benefit in Office 2010. You can add images or videos to a presentation and edit within the program.
This means that you don't need additional editing programs. You can edit using the Picture Tools tab which will appear
when you select the image.
Improved animation
This allows you to add realistic movement to stationary objects via the Animations tab on the Ribbon. If you
like the animation and want to apply it to other presentations, you can use the new animation
painter.
Improved SmartArt graphics
The improved SmartArt graphics' options allow you to create editable illustrations, and add them to your SmartArt
graphics (such as shapes and charts). You can add animation to your graphics, for example to show progression in sales
on a chart. In 2010 there are more SmartArt diagrams for you to choose from.
Additional benefits include easier conversion of SmartArt to texts and shapes, and SmartArt to text - which can all be completed more easily than in previous Office versions.
Link to a video on a website
You can add bookmarks to your presentation any audio or video clips you are using in your presentation.
Add Screen Shots to your PowerPoint presentation
This is new to 2010 with the easy inclusion of screenshots within your presentation. For example, in previous
versions of MS Office you would have to open up a program in a different window during a presentation to show a
screen shot.
New Themes
2010 has more themes with corresponding colours, effects and fonts which can save you time when creating a
new presentation or livening up an old one.
Improved Slide Transitions
2010 includes new special effects that can improve your presentation. The new transitions include 3D effects and
dissolves, and you can control the timings more effectively than before for a sleek performance. So instead of fast,
medium and slow in earlier versions, you now have control in seconds. The special effects from previous versions are
still there, and they have been improved to look smoother.
Use your mouse as a laser pointer
You can do this in
Slide Show View. Press Control and the left mouse button.
Organise your Presentation by Creating Sections
When you have a presentation that includes many slides, you can divide your presentation into sections to make
navigation, sharing (and delivery) easier. You can apply this via the Home tab in the Slides group, under the Section
button.
Merge and compare multiple edits in a single presentation
This is a new feature in 2010 that allows you to merge and compare multiple edits in one single presentation file.
This is especially useful if you are working on a presentation with one or more colleagues. The tool allows you to
review and compare different versions side by side, and then accept or reject the changes in one version.
Add a small section about Enhanced Picture formatting such as Colour Saturation and new effects.
Enhanced Slide Master view (from 2003)
These setting allows you to save different versions of your presentation so you can recover all or part of your earlier versions.
Using AutoSave
You can use this tool, if you want your presentation to be saved automatically when you are making changes, so you
don't have to remember to do it.
AutoRecover
This is a useful tool if you have forgotten to save your presentation manually - you need to select this
option in order to have it available for when you need it.
AutoRevision
This tool will let you go back to an earlier or later version of your presentation. This is also a useful
tool to have set up in case someone overwrites your presentation, and you want to go back to your original version.
Co-authoring allows two or more people to create or work on a presenation online, at the same time, using Sharepoint/Office 365. This give you and your colleagues the option for more flexible working.
Access your presentation outside of the office
You can access your presentation to work on it using the
PowerPoint Web Apps.
Work on your presentation from your phone
with PowerPoint Mobile 2010 for Windows Phone 7.
Save to Web (SkyDrive)
2010 gives you the capability to upload your file directly to SkyDrive. From there you and your colleagues can view
your presentation in a browser with the PowerPoint Web App (where you can complete some editing features) or for
fuller editing functions, launch the file in PowerPoint and edit it in the program.
Work with several PowerPoint presentation files at the same time in different windows
(Single Document Interface)
This feature lets you have the ribbon and editing tools available on each presentation you have open.
2010 gives you greater flexibility in how you show and share your presentations. This makes it easier for your audience to view it, at a time that suits them. The added bonus is that your audience does not have to have PowerPoint installed on their computers in order to view your presentation.
Turn your presentation into a video
In 2010, you have the ability to turn your presentation into a video (including features such as narration,
sounds, transitions and slide timings). The video can be played in Windows Media player.
Broadcast your slide show online
If you prefer to broadcast your slide show online, you can upload your presentation to the web. You can use
Broadcast Slide Show to show your presentations in the client's browser. This function is located within the Backstage
view in the Share area.
Save your presentation as a DVD
For those who would like a DVD version, this can be a fantastic option, and you can easily add all those extra
features such as narration, includes an embedded video, the video at the right point in the presentation (and you
don't need to control it).
Connect with us:
Call for assistance
We will call you back